Commutative Algebra and Algebraic Geometry
Organizers: A. Corso, C. Polini and W.V. Vasconcelos

Lawrenceville, NJ
April 17-18, 2004

This session will be devoted to Commutative Algebra and its interaction with other areas. In particular, we want to focus on: At 3:00pm on Friday April 16 there will be a talk by Uwe Nagel at Rutgers University in their algebra seminar. Later that day, at 4:30pm, there will be a colloquium talk by Dale Cutkosky.

Events: If you are interested, on Saturday April 17, from 7:00 to 8:00 p.m., there will be a concert in celebration of William Browder's 70th birthday. All participants are invited to this free concert featuring performances by Risa Browder and John Moran. It will take place in Taplin Room, Fine Hall, Princeton University Campus
The concert will be followed by a banquet on Saturday evening as part of the celebration of William Browder's 70th birthday. The banquet will take place at 8:15 p.m. in the Common Room in Fine Hall on the Princeton University campus. The cost is $28; interested participants should send a check payable to Princeton University to Scott Kenney, Mathematics Department, Princeton University, 302 Fine Hall-Washington Road, Princeton, NJ 08544-1000 no later than April 10.

Our Speakers: The following colleagues will give an invited 20 minute talk

Luchezar Avramov       University of Nebraska
Joseph Brennan       North Dakota State University
C.-Y. Jean Chan       University of Arkansas
Karen Chandler       University of Notre Dame
Hara Charalambous       SUNY at Albany
Dale Cutkosky       University of Missouri
Kia Dalili       Rutgers University
Neil Epstein       University of Chicago
University of Kansas
Sara Faridi       Université du Québec à Montréal
Elisa Gorla       University of Notre Dame
Li Guo       Rutgers University
Jooyoun Hong       Purdue University
Andrew Kustin       University of South Carolina
Anthony Iarrobino       Northeastern University
Juan Migliore       University of Notre Dame
Uwe Nagel       University of Kentucky
Hans Schoutens       College of Technology, CUNY
Hema Srinivasan       University of Missouri
Janet Striuli       University of Kansas
Adela Vraciu       University of South Carolina

For further information, please feel free to contact directly the organizers of the special session --- Alberto Corso (University of Kentucky), Claudia Polini (University of Notre Dame) and Wolmer V. Vasconcelos (Rutgers University).