## Edwards Endowed Professorship Agreement (As amended by the Dean; Adopted by faculty on November 11, 2003)

The Ralph E. and Norma L. Edwards Research Professorship shall be used to recognize tenured faculty in the Department of Mathematics who have made outstanding contributions in their recent research. All tenured faculty are eligible to be nominated.

Each fall of any year when endowment funds are available, the Chair of the Department of Mathematics shall constitute an Edwards Research Professorship Nomination Committee consisting of two tenured faculty members appointed by the Chair and two tenured faculty members elected by the voting faculty of the Department of Mathematics. No elected member can serve more than two consecutive years in which the award is offered.

The Committee will solicit nominations from the general faculty. A nomination will consist of a letter to the chair from the nominator presenting the case that the nominee has met the stated criterion of "outstanding contributions in recent research" within approximately ten years of the nomination year. Nominees for the Professorship should submit to the committee a dossier consisting of a current curriculum vitae, a statement of research activity and future research plans, and selected publications to document the nominee's accomplishments in recent research. The nominee should also provide the names of up to three potential external referees. The committee may at its discretion solicit outside letters evaluating the research accomplishments of nominees. The committee will then convey its recommendation to the Chair. The Chair will then recommend to the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences one or more recipients of a fixed-term award lasting three years. Appointments to the Edwards Endowed Professorship will be contingent on the recommendation of the President and approval by the Board of Trustees in accordance with University regulations (AR II-1.2-3G and AR II-1.0-1K and GR VIII-B)

A given recipient may hold the Professorship for at most two consecutive terms. The award will remain in effect so long as the recipient is a tenured faculty member in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Kentucky. During the first year of the award, each recipient shall give a departmental colloquium on his or her research.