Faculty Meeting Minutes

29 April 2025

Present: Austin Alderete, Ben Braun, Bradley Burdick, Arun Debray, Richard Ehrenborg, Bradley Elliott, Bert Guillou, Scott Hader, Ding Lu, David Murrugarra, Uwe Nagel, Nicholas Nguyen, Adam O'Neal, Mario Ordonez, Katherine Paullin, Jing Qin, Margaret Readdy, Jack Schmidt, Yiming Xu, Qiang Ye,

- (1) Announcements:
 - Awards Ceremony in Bingham-Davis house on 2 May 2025, starting at 4pm.
 - ACE presentation on 24 April 2025, 3:30 pm.
- (2) Minutes from 12 November 2024 were approved.
- (3) Revisions of the Graduate Student Handbook.

 The Graduate Committee and Executive Committee prepared a proposal for revisions of the Graduate Student Handbook. Both committees endorsed the proposal for discussion and, ideally, approval by the faculty.

 Moved to vote, seconded, faculty vote to pass.
- (4) Framework for having Special Title Series (STS) faculty.

 The Executive Committee discussed and recommended preparing for welcoming STS faculty in the Department at some future time. It prepared a proposal with according adjustments of the Rules of Procedure and Promotion guidelines for RTS faculty. The Executive Committee endorsed the proposal for discussion and, ideally, approval by the faculty.
- Moved to vote, seconded, faculty vote to pass.
- (5) Revision of departmental DOE guidelines. The Executive Committee prepared a proposal for adjusting departmental DOE guidelines and endorsed it for discussion and, ideally, approval by the faculty.

Moved to vote, seconded, faculty vote to pass.